profile image
Welshykim94
Cabin crew with children.
profile image
Welshykim94
Hiya all, new to this forum just after a few answers to any of these questions ????.

So I have been thinking of applying for the brs cabin crew with tui.
I currently work in retail with them and love it but have always wanted to do cabin crew.
Anyway, those with young children how have you found it doing such a role? Work life balance etc? I'm fine with working Christmas day etc as I've had to in previous roles before, I just mean day to day etc.
Are you able to just request short haul destinations?
I have a supportive family have told me to go for it, But I would like to know my options before i commit.

T.i.a
X
profile image
A54Y
Hi,

If you are successful you will be initially be offered a seasonal (temporary) contract for the summer. This can be followed by several more seasonal summer contracts before a permanent part year contract will be offered.

In your situation, with experience in retail you will probably be able to secure winter employment in the shop so you don't really have anything to loose.

Having children can be stressful as there will be very early (4AM) starts, late finishes and even night flights. An established support network is essential, be it parents, child minder, partner etc.

Your monthly roster is issued on the 15th of the month so you have a minimum of 2 weeks to make child care arrangements.

Initial or rejoining crew tend to fly short or mid-haul only with occasional night stops in Cape Verde so you will normally be back home within a day or on the day.

If you have the cabin crew itch, get your application in. If you don't like it or it doesn't suit you, there is always the retail option after your first season.

Good Luck
profile image
alzywalzywoo89