profile image
AirFlo
Cabin Crew + Student....
profile image
AirFlo
"Should I do Ryanair or wait?"

Hi everyone,

I hope you're all doing great!

When I left sixth form at 18, I tried for 2 years to get a job as cabin crew because I am really passionate for aviation, love planes and travelling.......

I have applied to BA x3, Qantas x1, Virgin x2 and TUI x1 and have been unsuccessful in each occasion. For BA, I attended 3 assessment days. For Qantas and Virgin, I didn't get an invite. For TUI, I declined my invitation to their assessment day.

When I was 19, I did manage to find a good job which I still have right now thankfully. I do enjoy it, however, I have made the decision to go to university (UWL) and study airline and airport management. I am studying it for 3 years but only on 45 Saturdays each year. This is known as a part-time intensive course and the reason I chose to do it this way is because I still want to work at the same time.

I know it is possible to be crew at the same time as I know some people who worked as crew whilst studying it (they missed more lectures because they had lectures over the week as they did the full-time course). I think this degree would be a good thing to have as this pandemic proves it is always good to have a plan b to fall back on. "Anyone else became crew whilst studying?"

Anyway, I want to work from Heathrow, Gatwick or London City (preferably Heathrow as I live in Central London). However, the only airline that seems to be recruiting at the moment is Ryanair (CREWLINK). I have applied anyway because I want the interview experience, but if I get an offer, what should I do? I really want to be crew and I think the experience would be good, but I just don't know how I'd be able to travel to either Luton or Stansted, especially when public transport right now is reduced and barely works at night (when I have early or late flights).